News and Trends

Cobra Design Competition

Innovative, impressive and progressive were some of the words judges used to describe the top entries into this year’s Cobra Design Competition, which called on aspiring designers to submit fresh, new designs for taps and mixers that incorporated cutting-edge technology, eco-conscious features and sound aesthetics. Following a hotly contested judging process, the 10 finalists in the two categories have been announced. These include, in the design student category, Andrew Mboyi (Edge); Johannes Berkhout (iFlow); Salmon Nortje (Pavati); Willem Bosch (Lumo) and Myles Louis Day (Cobra Colour Plus). The five finalists in the emerging professionals/individual category include Murray Sharp (Aloe); Leigh Mclaren (Ceramic Lace); Murray Sharp (Nautica); CJ Karsten (The Stealth Tap) and Anthony Wood (ELO X-135 sink mixer). The overall winners in each of these categories – as well as the institution that produces the most promising design students within the competition – will be announced on 22 August 2013. Natie van der Westhuizen, Cobra Watertech Manufacturing and Technical Director, says the judges were blown away by the standard of the designs submitted. ‘I was so impressed by huge effort made by all participants, and was extremely pleased to see such high-calibre presentations and well thought out ideas. In fact, all the judges were. Some said the designs were “totally out of the box” while other judges described them as being “way ahead of their time” and “radically innovative”. The use of very different materials, such as glass and clay, emerged in a few designs, and electronics featured strongly,’ explains van der Westhuizen. The judging panel comprised experts in the fields of design and plumbing, and included Ronelle Badenhorst (Business Unit Manager, Cobra Watertech); Natie van der Westhuizen (Manufacturing and Technical Director, Cobra Watertech); Rory Macnamara (Editor at Large, Interact Media); Greg Scott (Director, Greg Wright Architects & SITE Interior Design); Marcia Margolius (Editor, SA Décor & Design) and Naomi Larkin (Editor, House and Leisure). The first and second place prize winners in each category will collectively win R90 000 in cash and the winning institution, R10 000 in cash, to be presented at the awards ceremony on Thursday, 22 August 2013 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rosebank. Full details can be found at or at